There are thousands of poker tournaments held worldwide each year. Some have global appeal, while others are local or regional events.

A Poker tournaments all over the world is a multi-table competition where players buy-in to a game and fight for a share of the prize pool. The tournament starts with a predetermined start time and ends when all of the chips have been discarded.

The World Series of Poker

The first World Series of Poker took place in 1970, featuring a few cash games at Binion’s Horseshoe Casino over a few days. It was a modest affair with only a few dozen tables and a relatively small number of players.

Nonetheless, it was a success, with Johnny Moss winning a silver cup and Puggy Pearson taking home the top prize of $2,000. CBS Sports filmed the event in 1973, and the image of wide polka-dotted lapels, lamb-chop sideburns and burning cigars is a bit comical by modern standards.

Since then, the WSOP has grown into a huge international spectacle with comprehensive coverage and an extensive television audience. Thousands of players flock to Las Vegas every year for a shot at the ultimate glory.

The WSOP is now the largest poker tournament in the world, with a record-breaking $12 million being awarded last year to Jamie Gold. The event has also expanded to include satellites which are held at a number of different casinos around the country. These satellites allow amateurs to compete against the best players in the world and win a seat at the main event.

The Super High Roller Bowl

The Super High Roller Bowl is one of the most prestigious high-roller tournaments in the world. This recurring poker event takes place once or twice a year in different locations around the globe and awards over $125 million in prize money.

The latest edition of the Super High Roller Bowl was held at Aria Resort & Casino in Las Vegas and generated a $21,500,000 prize pool. Brian Rast took home the first-place prize of $7,525,000.

It was a stacked field of 24 players competing for the $3,312,000 first-place prize and Super High Roller Bowl championship ring. Daniel Negreanu defeated Nick Petrangelo heads-up to win the title.

With the victory, Negreanu earned 600 points toward the PokerGO Tour (PGT) leaderboard. This was enough to push him into the top 21 and a spot in the season-ending PGT Championship in December. He’s also got a lot of money to show for his efforts, with a total of $12,706,516 from the past 12 SHRB events.

The GuangDong Asia Millions

The GuangDong Asia Millions is one of the world’s most popular poker tournaments. It features big names and a huge prize pool. This event is held in Macau at the City of Dreams Casino, hosted by PokerStars.

The GDAM is a collaboration between PokerStars and the GuangDong Group Ltd, a company that owns several casinos in the region. The three-day event is slated to kick off on June 5 and wrap up on the 7th.

It is also the first event of its kind to be run in Macau. It will be held in the PokerStars Live card room at the City of Dreams Casino.

This year, renowned poker pros from around the world are expected to attend. Among the registrants are WSOP bracelet winners Jonathan Duhamel and Issac Haxton, along with seasoned online player Di Dang.

Another big name in the GDAM field is Anson Yan Shing Tsang, who is currently ranked number 6 in the World Series of Poker (WSOP) live tournament rankings with US$2.985 million in live tournament earnings. In 2013, he finished seventh in an HKD 1,000,000 buy-in No Limit Hold’em main event at the GuangDong Asia Millions for a massive HK$7.150 million payout.

The Macau High Stakes Challenge

One of the most memorable moments in poker history was the Macau High Stakes Challenge, which took place in 2012 and featured a massive prize pool. The event was a big step for Asia’s poker industry, and it was also an incredible moment for Macau as a gambling destination.

The tournament saw a huge turnout with some big names in the field. It was a one-day event that featured fast-moving 30 minute levels, and it didn’t take long for the field to be whittled down to eight players.

The winner was a German player, Stefan Schillhabel, who took home a massive amount of money for his efforts. He was able to top a strong field of 87 entries, including the likes of Dan Smith and Steve O’Dwyer.