St. Kitts and its Sustainable Development Council has been recognised as a global leader in sustainable tourism after winning a prestigious Tourism for Tomorrow Award from the World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC).

St. Kitts was awarded the Destination Stewardship Award, which was presented at the WTTC Global Summit in Seville, Spain, from 3 to 4 April, headlined by keynote speaker Barack Obama.

“It is a great honour to be recognised by the WTTC alongside organisations pursuing leading practices in sustainable development,” said the Hon. Lindsay F.P. Grant, Minister of Tourism for St. Kitts & Nevis. “Our Sustainable Development Council facilitates partnerships and relationships among public and private sectors as well as among all people in St. Kitts, to ensure that development in our destination preserves and benefits our environment, culture, heritage and community livelihoods. We hope this preservation will lead to long-term tourism growth and allow people to enjoy our beautiful island for many years to come.”

Visit St Kitts
The pristine beaches of St Kitts

WTTC’s Tourism for Tomorrow (T4T) Awards are the world’s top accolade in sustainable tourism; recognising the highest ethical standards in the sector. They are respected by industry leaders, governments and international media alike. The awards are aimed at recognising best practices in sustainable tourism within the industry globally, based upon the principles of environmentally friendly operations; support for the protection of cultural and natural heritage; and direct benefits to the social and economic well-being of local people in travel destinations around the world.

Now in their 15th year, the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards took place at a special ceremony during the WTTC Global Summit in Seville, Spain, held April 3-4, 2019, to celebrate inspirational, world-changing tourism initiatives from around the globe. The Destination Stewardship Award recognises organisations helping a place to thrive and bring forward its unique identity for the benefit of its residents and tourists.

Accepting the award for St. Kitts was Permanent Secretary (Ag.) in the Ministry of Tourism Mrs. Carlene Henry-Morton and Assistant Secretary Mrs. Diannille Taylor-Williams.

Permanent Secretary Morton noted, “In accepting the award on behalf of St. Kitts, it is important to acknowledge the team whose hard work laid the foundation for our sustainability programme. Particular recognition goes to the Sustainable Development Council, chaired by Assistant Secretary Diannille Taylor-Williams, the Department of Marine Resources, the St. Kitts Sea Turtle Monitoring Network, the Heart of St. Kitts Foundation, the staff of the Ministry of Tourism and the St. Kitts Tourism Authority.”

For more information on the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards and the winners, please visit For a complete list of Winners and Finalists, click here.