News & Offers

Jazz FM Awards 2022: Nominee list


Jazz of every description is very much in the air in London during October and November, with the advent of the London Jazz Festival and the annual Jazz FM Awards. Highlights from the awards will be broadcast on the station at 10pm on Thursday 20 October after the ceremony. US actor Clarke Peters will host the event which takes place at Shoreditch Town Hall in east London.

British vocalist Norma Winstone MBE, bass player Marcus Miller and pianist and broadcaster Jools Holland OBE will be the recipients of the three Gifted Awards, joining an esteemed list of musicians for this category that includes Tony Bennett, Herbie Hancock, Quincy Jones, Norah Jones, Georgie Fame and Pat Metheny.

This year’s nominees include Robert Glasper, Mavis Staples, Levon Helm, Questlove, Trombone Shorty, Lady Blackbird and Omar.

Marcus Miller
Marcus Miller

Norma Winstone, whose career stretches back to London’s Sixties scene and close associations with players such as Michael Garrick, John Surman and Kenny Wheeler, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. She says: “To be honoured with this award for what I love is humbling. I’m looking forward to the ceremony and singing a little something for you all.”

Jools Holland has been a central figure on the British music scene since the early Seventies with the band Squeeze, groundbreaking music show The Tube and the much-loved Later with… His Rhythm and Blues Orchestra enjoys global popularity. Holland receives the Impact Award.

A giant off the bass guitar, Marcus Miller has released a number of acclaimed albums and worked with Miles Davis, Chaka Khan, Aretha Franklin and George Benson. His distinctive playing helped define Bill Withers’ Just the Two Of Us and Luther Vandross’ Never Too Much. Miller will accept the Gold Award.


Gold Award

Marcus Miller

Jazz FM Awards 2022
Jools Holland
Impact Award

Jools Holland

Lifetime Achievement Award

Norma Winstone


Breakthrough Act Of The Year 

Chelsea Carmichael

Jasmine Myra

Mica Millar

International Act Of The Year 

Lady Blackbird

Theo Croker

Trombone Shorty

Soul Act Of The Year

Alex Isley

Cleo Sol

Mica Millar

Blues Act Of The Year

Christone Ingram

Joanne Taylor Shaw

Mavis Staples and Levon Helm

Jazz FM Awards 2022
Georgia Cecile
Vocalist Of The Year

Brigitte Beraha

Georgia Cecile


Instrumentalist Of The Year 

Emma Rawicz

Fergus McCreadie

Mark Kavuma

The Digital Award 


Summer Of Soul

We Out Here

Innovation Award

Blue Lab Beats

Café OTO

Jazz Is Dead


UK Jazz Act Of The Year 

Blue Lab Beats


Georgia Cecile


Album Of The Year

Cleo Sol – Mother

Blue Lab Beats – Motherland Journey

Emma-Jean Thackray – Yellow

Fergus McCreadie – Forest Floor

Kurt Elling – SuperBlue

Robert Glasper – Black Radio III

Listen to the Jazz FM Awards highlights 20 October at 10pm on at Jazz FM

Explore Topics

Rob Spellman

Robert Spellman

A former Fleet Street music journalist, Robert’s love of jazz spurs him around the globe in search of it and any related or indigenous sounds. More likely to be scribbling about Herbie Hancock in the southern Med than held aloft at a Taylor Swift gig – although you never know. His stories can also be found in France Today and Reach titles such as the Daily Mirror. London based, Robert is a subeditor at News UK and the Guardian.

Read more posts by Robert Spellman →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *