News & Offers

Croatia Joins Schengen and Eurozone on 1 January


Visitors to Croatia can expect changes from New Year’s Day as the country enters both the Schengen Area and the Eurozone.

During votes for Schengen entry in Brussels on 8 December, Croatia received unanimous backing from interior ministers. By entering Schengen, Croatia joins 26 other EU and EEA countries comprised of countries that have officially abolished all passport and all other types of border control at their mutual borders. Croatian international airports will have a transition period of three months to adjust their border controls upon entry. After the transition is complete – by 26 March 2023 – Schengen originating flights arriving in Croatia will no longer be required passport/border control.

Commented Prime Minister’s Andrej Plenković, “Croatia received the unanimous support of the Council for Internal Affairs and Justice – on January 1, 2023, we become a member of Schengen! In the year of delivery, we achieved the strategic goals of our government, which will benefit the Croatian citizens and the economy the most.”

Also effective 1 January 2023, the official currency in Croatia will be the Euro (EUR). There will be a two-week period at the start of 2023 where both currencies will be accepted as forms of payment, and for the first six months of 2023 banks and exchange offices will exchange HRK to EUR on a fee-less basis, while for the following six months a fee may be applied. After that, the Croatian National Bank will continue to exchange HRK to EUR indefinitely (paper currency), while coins will be able to be exchanged via the Croatian National Bank for three years post implementation.

All ATMs in Croatia will be converted to EUR by 1 January 2023. Through to yearend, as ATMs are converted to EUR, there may be fewer ATMs in operation, but POS and contactless payment are available at most shops, restaurants and cafes and cashless payment is possible.

Explore Topics

Mark Bibby Jackson

Mark Bibby Jackson

Before setting up Travel Begins at 40, Mark was the publisher of AsiaLIFE Cambodia and a freelance travel writer. When he is not packing and unpacking his travelling bag, Mark writes novels, including To Cook A Spider and Peppered Justice. He loves walking, eating, tasting beer, isolation and arthouse movies, as well as talking to strangers on planes, buses and trains whenever possible. Most at home when not at home.

Read more posts by Mark Bibby Jackson →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *